Senate

The Senate is the highest decision-making body in the GSO. Comprised of representatives from academic programs across campus, it meets approximately monthly to debate and vote on many matters of importance, including calls for action to the university’s administration, funding for student organizations, and more.

The Executive Board functions as the officers of the GSO and operate it on a day-to-day basis. They are responsible for carrying out the Senate’s resolutions, informing the Senate of important matters from elsewhere on campus, and acting as representatives of the graduate student body as a whole.

University Senators and Senators-At-Large are elected by the Senate, and they represent all graduate at SU in whole. University Senators serve in both the University Senate and the GSO Senate.

Academic Program Senators (APS) are elected or designated by their fellow graduate students in the same program of study. We encourage graduate students in all programs to elect/select or designate a representative to serve in the GSO Senate as their voice. If your department is not listed below, we encourage you to speak to your colleagues in your program to elect your Academic Program Senator. Please fill out the form at the following link once an APS has been designated for your program: http://bit.ly/gso-aps

Note: As per the GSO Constitution, all senators must attend the regular meetings of the Senate. Missing two consecutive meetings will result in removal from the Senate list. All senators, except University Senators, must serve on a GSO committee.

Senate Members

University Senators 2016-17

NameEmail
Chaudhry Iftikharcaiftikh@syr.edu
Derrick Taylordtaylor@syr.edu
Diksha Shukladshukla@syr.edu
Dimple Dhananiddhanani@syr.edu
Garrett Bryantetbryant@syr.edu
Walter Donnerwdonner@syr.edu
Guillermo Guasp-Perezgjguaspp@syr.edu
Kevin Hundeltkdhundel@syr.edu
Pooja Shahpshah03@syr.edu
Ruslan Asadovrasadov@syr.edu
Rajesh Kumar*rkuma102@syr.edu

*The GSO President is an ex officio member of the University Senate. The GSO President is not one of the ten University Senators apportioned to GSO and not a voting member of the GSO Senate.


At-Large Senators 2016-17

NameEmail
Ryan Falkenstein-Smithrlfalken@syr.edu
Lindsey Callahanlcallaha@syr.edu
Gayathri Manogna Parimigparimi@syr.edu
Aakriti Sharmaasharm04@syr.edu
Yanqing Veronica Huyhu121@syr.edu
Diethard Struelensdjstruel@syr.edu

SUNY-ESF Representatives 2016-17

NameProgramEmail
Zainab TariqESFztariq@syr.edu
(Vacant)ESF
Helene RainvilleESFhrainvil@syr.edu

Academic Program Senators 2016-17

(Use the following form to notify us of your APS: http://bit.ly/gso-senator-form)

NameProgramEmail
Jessica PosegaAnthropologyjmposega@syr.edu
Caitlin McDonoughBiologycemcdono@syr.edu
Lori PickeringBiomedical Forensic Sciencesldpicker@syr.edu
Ryan BinceCommunication and Rhetorical Studiesrlbince@syr.edu
Xin GaoChemical Engineeringxgao08@syr.edu
Shibajyoti DasEarth Sciencessdas100@syr.edu
Rachel Snyder-LockmanEnglishrjsnyder@syr.edu
Jack WilsonExperimental Psychologyjhwilson@syr.edu
Brian HenniganGeographybrhennig@syr.edu
Thomas BourilHistorytbouril@syr.edu
Devashis TamhaneInformation Managementdmtamhan@syr.edu
Erica MitchellInformation Science & Technologyemmitc01@syr.edu
Joshua FentonMathematicsjfenton@syr.edu
Shanique MothersillPan African Studiessamother@syr.edu
Hamed ShirmohammadiPhilosophyhshirmoh@syr.edu
Christopher CamesasPublic Administrationcacamesa@syr.edu
John BorchertReligionjwborche@syr.edu
Rikki SargentSocial Psychologyrhsargen@syr.edu
Taveeshi SinghSocial Sciencetsingh01@syr.edu
Amra KandicSociologyakandic@syr.edu